Family Pokemon Go

Met a family of 5 walking outside: a five year old pushing an infant in a stroller; Mom walking close behind; Dad holding up the middle. A seven year old boy walking and staring at his phone.
It was Family Pokemon Go … and everyone was in.
ME: “Just to let you guys know, I’m keeping the neighborhood safe. I just captured a Rattata he won’t bug you guys now. Those critters are EVERYWHERE.
SEVEN YEAR OLD: “I just got one too!”

DAD (LAUGHING WITH DISBELIEF): “Yeah, we’re catching them all.”

ME: “There MUST be a nest of them! There are a lot of water Pokemon by the lake!
Later as I rounded the lake with Roxxie in tow, it turned dark and they were slowly making their way around the pond.
ME: “Any luck?”
SEVEN YEAR OLD: “Mom caught one!”
ME: “Awesome!”
***
Some games change the world. More games like this please.

3 thoughts on “Family Pokemon Go

  1. William if you don’t like what I write please feel free to erase. Totally OK.

    I had to look up the word Pokémon because I haven’t the clue what your post was about.
    LOL… I really can’t compare family life, what people do now and how I lived as a child in war time in Hungary and after.
    Had scurvy by age 5-6 -7..also had frozen toes because standing in line for 3 hours in 20 bellow for a loaf of bread and that was not only one time experience!
    Here are the average skill a child had to learn and able to perform me included by age 7-8.. Basic cooking, mostly soups and veggie stews and to make dumplings for soups, this was done after school about 5 days a week.
    But first had to Clean out the ashes from the wood-coal burning stove and build a fire but first had to cut the kindling for that fire.
    The very first time I was told to split kindling I was 7 years old, the axe was sharp enough to split a hair with but father has shown how far one must spread the legs.. stand in that stance in case the wood is missed and the swing of on axe would not splint ones leg bone. He also explained that let the axes weight fall and do the splitting. There was no fear I hurt self and he did not worry one bit, I was shown how to do it and that was that.
    We were shown how to sharpen knifes and I still do so till this day, including scissors.. We had to do our own mending and, cleaning our own shoes and clean the rooms, scrub wood floors weekly, wash dishes by hand and a major chore fallen on me was to carry daily huge buckets of water from distant well, even for laundry I had to do this. We were 5 of us and that is a lot one water for one little skinny girl to carry home. My sisters were too small.
    We learned how to pick wild mushrooms, which was poisoned or edible, we had to pick wild barriers, wild apples and pears and had to gather weed for rabbits daily.
    What my parents were doing? In Hungary those years the working day was 10 hours, six days a week, plus traveling time and that did not leave much time for anything else since they both were doing hard physical work.
    I was not on abused child … far from it. Reading was out entertainment by the time I was 9 when I read War and Peace.. and by 13-14 I read all the classics. I read thousands of books.
    I hardly touched the subjects what skills were learned early age, I was never asked to do but told and I was never thanked yet I never complained and I would not know how to.
    We were prepared to live life.
    I guess being plucky has originated from there, where I as six year old; had to collect wood in the forest and had to carry those bundled wood on my back.
    It was not a bad life I was not deprived, but I sure loved electric light in our kitchen when it was first time experienced, I was 11 and I could read by brighter light! WOW.. that was living!

    • Wow. So THAT’S why you are such a badass. I get it now.

      I feel we actually need bigger problems for our kids to solve. It’s way too easy for them.

      • On that you have my agreement.. My sisters and I, we always felt that our so called ”hard life” as children have prepared us for facing the problems when we become adults not that it made life easy but easier to face up to. Hell no, I did not have on easy life but I sure knew how to get off my knees when knocked over and grit my teeth and back into life again!
        Starting here in Canada- being a refugee not speaking the language PLUS difficulty learning English because having very serious dyslexia [ which I did not know I had or what it was] sure made life more difficult.
        I haven’t got the word ”defeat, being defeated” in my universe.. or maybe.. or perhaps. Just yes or no; do or don’t and don’t even think to hold me back…LOL. or cut your gizzard out and give it to the crows.
        You are right… when children don’t have challenges at young age… well … look around: they all believe life owes them, and they all want it easy… well, nothing wrong with easy.. but challenge, being challenged sure makes one feel full of life-energy.
        I like to share one of the most unforgettable moments in my life. Till as a refugee and we were in England not until than I have seen a real bath tub. I was 17 than.
        This place where we were assigned to live in was a beautiful large manor house at the edge of the famed Sherwood Forest and of course had bathrooms with hot-cold running water and the tubs were huge.
        Well, after we arrived we all wanted to get into the tubs.. this house had 7-8… LOL… the tubs were big enough for two so from that day on my girlfriend and I we set daily in hot water still we were like prunes or chased out by those who also desired that same wrinkled -soaked look. …LOL… we gloried in the heated water and the luxurious feelings. 🙂
        The Manor housed 13 Hungarian families and I even had my own bedroom… WOW… my very own bed and I did not had to share it with my sisters! Now how is that for luxury.
        love ya!

Leave a Reply

